Day 174: St. Nicholas Day

When I was 19, I had the privilege of living in Germany for about two years. During this time I picked up on a lot of their customs, and found out one thing for sure: Germans love their Christmas. In fact, they love it so much that they have even more holidays in December than Americans. Technically, their Christmas lasts from the 24th until the 26th. They have a “Christmas Day Two”. That’s something we should really adopt over here in the States.

One of the holiday traditions that I have adopted in my family is called St. Nicholas Day. For German children, St. Nicholas is not said to come on Christmas Eve, but on the 6th of December. Instead of setting out stockings the night like in some other places, German children set out their shoes by the door, hoping for St. Nicholas to fill them.

In the morning, if they’ve been good, their shoes are filled with candy and small presents. I have adopted this tradition with my children, as it is part of my life. I came home from Germany and became a German teacher and continue now to use German in my daily life. It’s fun to keep the tradition alive, and our kids don’t mind that we celebrate even more holidays in December. It’s twice the candy.

Leave a Reply

