Day 158: Putting Off Childish Things

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

1 Corinthians 13:11

Becoming a father is not something that you can really go back from. Once you cross that threshold, it means you are a different person. It is a special and even sacred responsibility to care for those you help bring into the world. This will necessarily mean that you need to change your lifestyle and your habits, putting away childish things so that you change from being the child to being the parent.

For example, before I became a father, I spent a lot of time on evenings and weekends playing video games. When I became a father, I simply just had the choice between continuing playing the same amount of videogames and neglecting my child, or putting aside video games and being a father to my child. I chose the latter and though I haven’t completely put off playing video games once in a while, I make it the first priority to make sure that my family’s needs are met and that I spend quality time with my children. Luckily, my sons like videogames too, so sometimes will simply play together.

Leave a Reply

