Day 144: Truth from Truman

Harry-truman

I have found the very best way to advise your children is to find out what they want to do and advise them to do it. – President Harry Truman

This quote from President Truman rings true to me. Not all of the things that interest us will be of interest to our children. It is therefore our job to find out what does interest them. It is only then that we can use our position for good and advise them to follow whatever it is they’re passionate about.

When I was young, I took a great interest in music. Now my mother comes from a very musical family and is a gifted pianist and director. My father, however, is simply a great patron of the arts as it were. But he enjoyed music, though it just wasn’t his personal passion.

He, however, saw my interest in music and made sure to help foster it from a young age. Though he was a pilot for the US Air Force and thus gone out of state or out of the country often, he always made a point to try to be around for my concerts and recitals.

When my mother felt like she had taught me all that she could by yourself as a piano teacher, my father encouraged me to take outside piano lessons and provided the financial support necessary for me to do so. He found out what I wanted to do and he advised me to do it.

It is going to the same for your children. They will only be more excited to pursue the things that they are passionate about if they know you have your full support.

Leave a Reply

