Day 141: He Hath Not Given the Spirit of Fear

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of clove, and of a sound mind.

-2 Timothy 1:7

Becoming a father and being a good father can be a difficult process. There are many times when self-doubt and anxiety can creep in. There may be days when you throw up your hands and wonder who thought you were cut out for this job in the first place.

At these times, it is good to remember that feelings of doubt, inadequacy, and frustration do not come from God. These are things that must be overcome with His help. He is willing to grant us assurance that we are good enough, we are capable, and that we can improve as we seek to rely on Him.

As you pray for support, mention specific struggles you’re having and feelings that you are grappling with. I remember when I first brought my second son home from the hospital. He had to be fed through a feeding tube inserted directly into his stomach. This site left what was essentially an open wound in his abdomen, which required much extra care. I remember feeling completely overwhelmed, like things would never be normal again that I simply was not up to the task on top of everything else I struggled with.

During that time, I said many prayers and also relied on the continued support of my wife. It is now been years since that time I found that my shoulders have been strengthened to bear the load that was put on them. I came out on the other side of the experience a much better man and especially father.

Leave a Reply

