Day 64: A Good Man’s Inheritance

2013-02-03 20.33.50

A good man leaves an inheritance to his children’s children, but the sinner’s wealth is laid up for the righteous.

Proverbs 13:22 ESV

When you speak about inheritance, most people think of the worldly wealth or property that we will leave behind to our heirs when we die. While this scripture certainly could be applied to being a wise steward of your wealth, I believe it has a deeper meaning.

Fathers leave much more to their children than money. I know I have gotten many of my attitudes about life, my habits, my mannerisms, even some of the phrases I often use from my father.  I’m grateful for these, as my father set a good example, one that I’d be glad to pass on to my children. The reverse can also be true, however. Bad habits and behaviors can also be passed down, not just to your children, but to generations thereafter.

My father was a pilot who traveled the world, and from a young age, he instilled me with a love far off things and places. His stories sparked by young imagination, cultivating a love for reading and writing. Today, I enjoy and supplement my living from writing, and hope to pass that on to my children.

Question: What kind of inheritance am I leaving for my children? Is it the kind of inheritance I want to leave them?

Leave a Reply

