Day 60: Forget Batman

cheap-batman-toy-245895-m

“Forget Batman: when I really thought about what I wanted to be when I grew up, I wanted to be my dad.”
― Paul AsayGod on the Streets of Gotham: What the Big Screen Batman Can Teach Us about God and Ourselves

I agree—my dad is a superhero. It is one thing for heroes to take on big villains and save the city or the world in movies and comic books. It is another kind of heroism to stick around day in and day out, doing the hard jobs of raising children.

It is also easy to hold up caped crusaders and men of steel, but not easy to hold up the household heroes. It is sad that good dads don’t often get the recognition they deserve, but that should not be a reason not to be one. Anyway, it would probably be tough to make an exciting comic of “Dad Picks His Kids Up from School” and stay tuned for next week’s installment “Dad Folds Laundry: Return of the Mismatched Socks.”

As a dad, you need to be thinking about what kind of example you set for your children. Even Superman had a dad growing up, even Jesus Christ had an earthly father who taught him his trade. Your sons and daughters might grow up to be superheroes themselves.

Question: What can I do to be the best role model I can be for my kids?

Leave a Reply

