Day 55: Adam’s Rib

“Women were created from the rib of man to be beside him, not from his head to top him, nor from his feet to be trampled by him, but from under his arm to be protected by him, near to his heart to be loved by him.”
― David O. McKay

I love this quote from David O. McKay, because it captures how I feel about my wife. God gave Adam dominion over the plants and beasts, but his wife was made to be a ‘helpmeet’ for him.  Only once Eve stood at Adam’s side, did the Creator declare creation complete.

I have always regarded my wife as my partner in this wonderful enterprise we call our family. We agreed early that we are not as interested in what society tells us that our roles are, and more interested in what is best for our family.

My wife has a degree in accounting, so she does the finances. I genuinely enjoy cooking, so I take a major role in food preparation. We both change diapers, put the children to bed, feed the children, get up with them in the middle of the night, and so on. Our division of labor may not match what works best for you and your family, but I think that’s fine. We each play to our strengths so that things run as smoothly as possible.

Question: What can I do in my marriage to play to our strengths in daily life?

One thought on “Day 55: Adam’s Rib

  1. Pingback: Adam’s Rib | Cindy Holman

Leave a Reply

