Day 50: Passing on Compassion

As a father shows compassion to his children, so the Lord shows compassion to those who fear him.

Psalm 103:13 ESV

The compassion we show our children should be a reflection of the compassion we feel coming from God.

I think that one of the most prominent examples of this in my life is that of forgiveness. I imagine that God, our Heavenly Father, sees us much as we see our young children. Just as we can do many more things than our children and have a much greater understanding of how things are, our Heavenly Father is vastly more knowledgeable and capable than we are.

I will be the first to admit that I’m an extremely fallible man. I have had to ask God’s forgiveness many times in my life, and time and time again, I have felt God’s compassion and forgiveness.  What kind of father would I be if I did not then pass that same compassion on to my children? Whatever my children do, I try to extend to them the same kind of forgiveness that I have been given.

Question: What can you do in order to show compassion to your children?

 

Leave a Reply

