Day 48: Unless the House is on Fire…

“Let husband and wife never speak to one another in loud tones, unless the house is on fire.”
― David O. McKay

To me, nothing makes a home more uncomfortable than raised voices.  Raised voices escalate any conflict. Verbal violence often leads to physical violence, and hurtful words can sometimes hurt even more than blows.

David O. McKay’s quote is now a personal rule by which I live my life. There are a few things that you can insert for “the house being on fire”, which means that I only raise my voice when someone in my family is in imminent danger.  When I do this, I do so only to get their attention and not out of anger or frustration.

If I feel myself becoming angry or frustrated, I request to leave the situation to give all involved a minute to calm down before continuing. Sometimes, I realize that I’m just tired and would be better to look at an issue in the morning.

Question: What can you do to help yourself not raise your voice to your wife and children?

Leave a Reply

